A couple of questions from a new guy.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A couple of questions from a new guy.

First off I am the Proud owner of a 79 GS850G. She isnt the prettiest thing on the block but reliable. Unfortunately I had a bit of a wreck and am currently replacing a few parts. Okay so here are my questions...

1) I have an 82 front master cylinder on the way (a steal off ebay) and I was planning on ordering a set of stainless brake lines from HEL. does anyone know if there is a difference in the master cylinder fittings from 79-82?

2) Anyone have any exhaust recommendations? the guy who had the bike before me welded Honda megaphones to the stock 4-2..rather sloppily at that and I mashed them up a bit in my mishap. Im kind of fond of a 4-2 set up but not unmoving in my decision.

3) I plan on ditching the airbox for weight and aesthetics and using pod filters my understanding is that I'll need the more oval shaped K&Ns as opposed to the round ones correct?

Thanks in advance. So far you guys have been extremely helpful

Exhaust choices are few and far between and if You go with the pods prepare to descend into Rejetting Hell. No GS is more affected by the Air/Fuel mixture than the 850. Not saying it can't be done but it can be a big pain to get right.
    sigpic2002 KLR650 Ugly but fun!
    2001 KLR650 too pretty to get dirty

Life is a balancing act, enjoy every day, "later" will come sooner than you think. Denying yourself joy now betting you will have health and money to enjoy life later is a bad bet.

Where I've been Riding

Comment

1. No differences
      2. Look in the Parts for Sale forum or Ebay
      3. Save the pods for a winter project, should you decide to do it. You don't want to spend the rest of your riding season tearing your carbs off repeatedly
      1978 GS 1000 (since new)
      1979 GS 1000 (The Fridge, superbike replica project)
      1978 GS 1000 (parts)
      1981 GS 850 (anyone want a project?)