Dismantling of the carbs on GS750EX

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dismantling of the carbs on GS750EX

OK so I took my carbs apart on my '81 GS750EX per the "carb cleanup series" Things didn't go very smoothly, but nothing ever does. First carb, I ripped the bowl gasket to shreds, but everything else went fine. Second carb, learned from 1st and salvaged the gasket. Instead, I ended up having to use a drill bit and easy-out on the pilot jet. Third carb, salvaged gasket and pilot jet but may have screwed up threads a little on needle jet. Fourth carb, I am now an expert as everything went smooth. So, what I thought I would do was buy 1 rebuild kit and it would include everything that I needed. Wrong!!! I can't seem to find the "Y-4" needle jet for sale anywhere. I also couldn't find the air screw anywhere on the carbs. It looks as though the location of the air screw is blocked off.
    1. Any suggestions as to where to get a Y-4 needle jet or would it be cheaper to buy a tap and die set?
    2. Would a carb rebuild kit have the "same as stock" main jet and pilot jet?
    3. Do my carbs have an air screw?
    Thanks for your assistance,
    Jason

Common wisdom of the GSR is to get an O-ring kit from cycleorings.com and reuse all your stock Mikuni brass parts. Those carb kits are full of substandard junky parts, plus they are incomplete and typically don't include critical parts such as the fuel transfer tube O-rings.

You might want to check Z1 Enterprises for the carb parts you need. Don't be afraid to call them if you don't see what you need on the web site. As for the pilot screws, they are located under a metal cap. There are hundreds of threads here detailing all these things so when in doubt the search function is your friend - the answer is there just waiting for you to find it.
    Ed

To measure is to know.

Mikuni O-ring Kits For Sale...https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ts#post1703182