Newbie with questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie with questions

Hey guys, Im another new guy here, found this site 3 days ago and have spent hours so far reading an learning and I am very impressed with this site. I have been out of bikes for a few years, and never did much to my other bikes so Im still new to alot of stuff.(Car and trucks are my life work and play) I got a chopper project thats just in the basic stages and I am picking up my new toy tomorrow. Its what looks to be a 1981 GS550E. Serial tag says GS550E, and looking at pics here it def looks to be an 81. My questions concern gettting this thing running, and then onto modding it. It has been sitting since the 90s, outside. The carbs are off the bike, freshly rebuilt Mikunis wrapped in plastic when I bought it. The motor turns freely and everything is there, Its a guy I work with, he didnt know any details about it, it was his dad's who passed away. It has 14k on it but other then sitting seems to be in mint shape. the tires even have air in them still. Question is, what would be your steps in trying to get this running. Im worried since it sat with no cabrs on it for well over 15 years, but its turns 100% fine. So if someone can point me in the right direction with a place to get the regular stuff (plugs wires etc etc) or part numbers where I can try to order them through my work that would be awesome, Also any and everything I need to look out for and do to get this thing sound. Sorry for the novel, this is my start on these bikes, as I learn more and get more done on the bike, I;ll ask more