beautiful shine!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

beautiful shine!

hey all, i posted this before but i didn't get the answer that i was particularly looking for.

i know my PO has rattle-canned my engine side covers, i would like to get back to the aluminum shine that a lot of you have on your bikes.

If i use Aircraft stripper, i understand that it will remove the clear coat that was once under the paint... however, if i get some polish and "elbow-grease-it-up" will it looks similar to all your guy's shining machines?

i really do not want to clear coat, as i have no experience with painting whatsoever.

Thanks!

Yep, aircraft stripper will get you to bare aluminum (be careful, that stuff is pretty noxious), then use progressively finer sandpaper or steel wool and finish with mothers polish or similar. If you want to clearcoat, use a wheel grade and it will hold up better, but it's not necessary. You'll just have to repolish on occasion.

Comment

Awsome. Sweet!

Comment

Originally posted by doctorgonzo View Post
        (be careful, that stuff is pretty noxious)
        Read the can. Dont breathe it and dont get it on your skin. It will burn.
        82 1100 EZ (red)

"You co-opting words of KV only thickens the scent of your BS. A thief and a putter-on of airs most foul. " JEEPRUSTY

Comment

ill just use paint stripper then. less toxic right?

Comment

I've used paint stripper in the past..ket it soak and pressure wash it off..then sand the rest...or you could try brake fluid..depending on what paint the PO used it may work and isnt as toxic.

DDM

Comment

"elbow-grease-it-up"

errrr, a little understated........

Be careful what you wish for, but if you are dedicated it can and shall look like what you desire.

1. (easy part) aircraft stripper
              2. sand 400 grit one direction until black spots/oxidation seems to have disapeared. (it might take 240 or 320 grit to work it out, but the scratches will be deeper.)