Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need some advice for 77 gs550 owner.

Hello,

I bought a 77 gs 550 that I probably shouldn't have for $300. Wouldn't start. Put about $500 in parts, labor into it (carb clean, new filter, plugs, brake lines tank clean, tires, etc, etc), got the right two cylinders to start, but the left two wouldn't. So, I took it to an ASE auto mechanic who works on older bikes on the side. He says the right compression is low (110 psi) and the left cylinders are around 135 psi. He says that it wouldn't be worth it to put in new cylinders and rings and possibly rebore.

At this point I figure that I am commited to finishing this thing. I can buy an 80 gs550 engine on ebay that runs perfectly for $375 including shipping and swap mine out. I've already gone this far, I've got to finish right? I can turn a wrench and read a manual, but I'm no mechanic. My wife is going to kill me when she see's how much money I am sinking into this thing.

Oh by the way, I didn't even notice when I bought it but the speedo says the bike has 84,000 miles on it, yikes! And the mechanic says that the spark is low.

Comment

Can anyone tell me what would cause a weak spark to plugs. I have new plugs and wire caps? 77 gs550.

Comment

Hi Mr. johnend,

A week spark can be symptomatic of a wiring harness full of corroded connectors causing extra resistance and less voltage to the coils. The "coil relay mod" is one of the favorites around here. But nothing beats a wiring harness with clean connections and grounds. There is lots of coil relay mod info on my site.

Thank you for your indulgence,

BassCliff

Comment

Don't worry about the miles or the compression. They are not the problem.
          Worry about learning to fix it yourself.

If that's not going to happen, run away.

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment