Split collets

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Split collets

I'm assembling my 8v 850 head, and I was just wondering if it was normal for the split collets to be asymmetrical like this?

I can't see any reason why not, but this is my first time assembling a head and I really, really wouldn't want to get this wrong and drop a valve.

No problem.

What tool / process are you using to assemble? BassCliff has a video on his site that I made, illustrating this process.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride
    Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)
    (Click on my username in the upper-left corner for e-mail info.)

Comment

That's the video I referenced to get the head apart in the first place. The simple PVC/Washer tool worked very well, and getting the collets off was much easier than I expected.

I am having a hard time getting the collets back on, but I think it's just a matter of practice. I've got a magnet similar to the one Steve uses in his video, but I can't for the life of me figure out how he got that to work.

Comment

Well, look closely, I am that "he".

I used the magnet to hold the collet close, then used another tool, a scribe (but could be any small tool, like a screwdriver) to push the collet into place on the valve stem. It took several tries before I got comfortable enough to film it, but as you can see, even I have problems with it at times.

Did you put some grease in the groove on the valve stem? It will act like glue and hold the collet when you get it in place.

The whole purpose of that video was to show that you did not need a $150 valve spring compressor to get the job done.

sigpic