A bit rich I think

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A bit rich I think

I have now been running my GS 550L with its mods ( Pods and stage 3 Kit) for a week or two and while generally running fine with lots more grunt! I think its running a bit rich and seek some advice. The plugs on 1,2,and 3 cylinders are very dark and No. 4 looks ok. At up to 5000 rpm it runs fine but when I give it some stick after this it seems to stutter a bit and when I back off it picks up again.
    I originally fitted the needle clips at 4 from the top and the air screws( top of carb on inlet) are 3 turns out.

To keep it simple I am thinking about raising the clips a notch.

Would this be a good starting point?

Thanks for your help in the past and look forward to your replies now.

Martin

Scotland

I am NOT a carb expert but you may need to go to a smaller main jet FOR info go to

Check the tuning info

Comment

Re: A bit rich I think

Assuming you have the same size jets in all four carbs if 1,2 and 3 are black and 4 is normal, then it is possible to synchronize the carbs with the same settings and vacuum that is on 4. I would synch the carbs first.
      The problem may not be jetting, but setup and tuning.

Earl

Originally posted by runnersleep
      I have now been running my GS 550L with its mods ( Pods and stage 3 Kit) for a week or two and while generally running fine with lots more grunt! I think its running a bit rich and seek some advice. The plugs on 1,2,and 3 cylinders are very dark and No. 4 looks ok. At up to 5000 rpm it runs fine but when I give it some stick after this it seems to stutter a bit and when I back off it picks up again.
      I originally fitted the needle clips at 4 from the top and the air screws( top of carb on inlet) are 3 turns out.

To keep it simple I am thinking about raising the clips a notch.

Would this be a good starting point?

Thanks for your help in the past and look forward to your replies now.

Martin

Scotland