A Little Advice Please!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A Little Advice Please!!!

I am working on my winter projects at this time and could use a little advice. My Bike is a 1980 GS1100E with an new 1166 kit and a V and H header. I am working on installing a Stage 3 Jet kit, Individual Air Pods, and Adjustable Cam sprockets. I have been trying to find a step by step procedure for adjusting my timing using the New Cam Sproket. At This time the only one I could find was provided by Biker 66 http--medlem.spray.se-biker661-index.html. This is my first time trying this mod and at this time I have no reason not to belive Biker 66's layout but I thought I would ask a couple of others that may have done the work if this is the correct procedure or is there a better way to do it. Any advise would be appreaceted.

The Beast

here is the web site for the Procedure:

http--medlem.spray.se-biker661-index.html

Comment

And for the 3rd and final attempt:

http//medlem.spray.se-biker661-index.html

Go to Modifications and then to Camtiming.

Comment

I have used that procedure without problems.

I just had hard time to believe the numbers which I first measured from the stock engine. The timing was about 10 degrees off from the factory specification.
        Arttu
        GS1100E EFI turbo
        Project thread

Comment

10 degrees off isnt unusual for aftermarket cams. All companies recommend degreeing in their cams for the application (racing)

A stock cam should'nt be that far off. Are the cams aftermarket?

Comment

Here some more info on it, but before you ever start the bike up double check the timing and valve to piston clearance.
            GS 1100/1150 - 0.050 Int., 0.075 Ex at the least, more is safer

Timing cams

"""This one is a little bit trickier, not difficult, but you will have to think about what you are doing.

What you need