Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Degreeing cams on GS700

Hello all,

I've finally gotten around to setting my bike up so that I can degree the cams. My intent is go move the power band higher and increase peak power at higher rpm's as well. Hopefully by degreeing my cams to complement my pipe and pods I can gain some noticeable power increases.

I plan to retard the intake cam ~3-4 degrees from stock or when it was new and then retard my exhaust cam ~7 degrees. By doing this I am hoping to get results as i posted above. This is also where my questions come. As I have never done this before I'm looking for someone who has with either an 83 750 or 85 700 that has experimented with cam timings to save me some headache. I talked to a guy in madison at a shop and he said he had a 83 750 and he put a 700 exhaust cam in and then found specs for a cam made for his bike by yoshimura and put his cams to those specs. Anyone have any information like this?

I also need the stock cam timings so I can compare what I have now with what I should have stock. My thinking is that my camchain stretched over time and I am assuming my cams have been retarded ~3-4 degrees so I think that the only thing that I'll need to do is retard my exhaust cam an additional 3 degrees from what I have now in order to get the desired results. I need the stock timings though in order to see just how far the cams have retarded so if anyone can help me out..

I'm going to take the gears off the cams and grind slots in the holes in order to adjust them also..

Thanks guys
    Nick

Last edited by Guest; 03-29-2008, 02:17 PM.

I would try 110 exhaust and 108 intake. If you want even more top end 110 for the intake but don't expect an idle under 1500 rpms.