Tarbash27's 1979 7/11 build.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tarbash27's 1979 7/11 build.

I decided to make my own thread about building my bike from the ground up. Its a 1979 GS750L turned into a sporty E model and will have a 1085cc motor. I have been riding this bike for the past 3 years and constantly have been restoring/modifing it. It has made 2 trips to florida and back and it currently has 50,xxx miles on it. Its not fast enough! There is going to be no budget to this build nor deadline. It might take a while since I dont make alot of money but oh well.

I have already bought a donor bike back in june, a 79 gs1000e. Motor came out and fully dissasembled by myself and cleaned every part of the motor. Bought a slightly used 1085 kit from frankenzuki and head which was pretty fresh. Also a set of web cams 110 grind. Crank was sent out to stan gardner and should be back next week.

I was just going to swap motors when the 1085 motor was complete. But I decided to tear down the entire bike. I will be doing all the fabrication myself. I have an 82 GS1100E front end that I will rebuild and put on.

This is my bike when I originally bought it in august of 2005.

This is the bike as of july 2008

This is the bike as of today, september 16th, 2008 sitting next to the donor gs1000 frame

Today I totally de-tabbed the frame. I have to weld on a few new tabs and mock up the 1000 cases to make the new motor mounts. Hopefully this weekend.

I want to paint the frame myself but theres some gouges, grind marks and big scratches. I was looking into that por 15 stuff for the frame. Any suggestions.
    Last edited by Guest; 09-16-2008, 07:07 PM.

79 GS1000E frame left, 42 lbs.
    My 79 GS750 frame right, 35 lbs

Comment

Wow your ride looks like a real deal E. I always wondered what exactly you did to your ride and now we will all get a chance to see.
      I look forward to watching the progress, plus your bike looks alot like mine.