engine bogging down on start up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

engine bogging down on start up

I have an 82 GS1100 L with about 9000 miles. Maybe this is a simple fix, maybe more complicated... but i'm a pretty lousy mechanic so i'm kicking it up to the experts here. So when i start the bike.. full choke, no gas she starts every time. but i have to choke the bike for a good few minutes otherwise it bogs down when or essentially floods out when you touch the trottle. Once the bike is warm it is much more responsive to the trottle, but i'm not sure i have the full power/responce I had this time last year. Any thoughts? Thanks!

mike

have you pulled any plugs to see what color they are? how does the bike idle once warm? air filter plugged?
    Rob
    1983 1100ES, 98' ST1100, 02' DR-Z400E and a few other 'bits and pieces'
    Are you on the GSR Google Earth Map yet? http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=170533

Comment

Don't touch the throttle until it's totally off the choke. You will foul the plugs out.

Comment

Sounds a tad too lean, air leaks? Modified intake or exhaust?
        What have you done to it?

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

How old is your gas? Just curious.

Comment

answers to questions