A complete beginner's complete rebuild.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A complete beginner's complete rebuild.

As a complete beginner I intend to learn a lot about motorcyles, how they work and how to restore/maintain them. I inherited my grandfathers motorcycle a while back and have decided to get it back running. To learn the most I can in the shortest amount of time I have decided to strip down the bike to the frame, clean and polish the peices, replace what needs to be replaced then reassemble it. As a beginner I will need a lot of advice and I will run into a lot of hiccups. That's where you guys come in. (Don't worry im not too lazy to use the search tool and will do so before i pose any questions.) In return I will document the entire process the best I can, and since i have so much free time on my hands I'm hoping to provide a fairly constant stream of updates etc. So without further ado, let's begin.

Here are all the attachents my nono still had on the bike, don't intend to put them back on when im done as i like the look of the bike without them.

Removed the airbox, not in the best shape but nothing a little weather stripping wont fix, but ill get to that later.

Removed the carbs, dirty! I have ordered new orings and will capture the full disassembly and cleaning later.

Here's the bike! ( the valve cover is off as i was doing a valve clearance adjustment, which after i reassemble the bike i realize i will probably have to redo.)

PS - - - a MILLION thanks to bikecliff and everyone who wrote articles on his website, including the one on how to post pictures. They are too great for words.
    Last edited by Guest; 03-27-2011, 06:43 PM. Reason: Forgot something.

Welcome aboard and thanks for posting your rebuild thread! Good luck with it and you'll have plenty of expertise around here for any problem you run up against.

Comment