Sal's 1997

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sal's 1997

I'm a newbie to this forum. Glad I found it. If this post needs to be moved..do it. Well, where do I start? Just got a 97 GS550 that's been siting outside in Colorado for a couple of years. The owner. I think had Stabil in the gas tank. I was able to get her started with a new battery. Decided to go over her to get her road worthy. Ordered and installed new points and condensers. Gapped the points, but didn't do anything with the timing since it seemed to be OK when she ran. Ordered new rear shoes, since the originals were really worn out, Had a heck of a tome trying to figure out how to get the rear wheel off, until I realized that it slid off; that the axle didn't have to be pushed thru like other bikes (exhaust pipes were in the way). Cleaned the chain in degreaser. I tried to restart the bike, but I'm having trouble starting it now. Points are firing ok, plugs have a spark. Off come the carbs. They are on my workbench right now. I looked at the many page PDF on the carbs that is posted on the forum, but that model is a little different from my carbs. I'm cleaning the passages right now. Should I take the tops off the carbs too? Some of the o rings are toasted. Should I order a carb rebuilt kit ($25) each ! ..or just go to the hardware store and try to find those size?
    Lots more posting to do, but for now I'll throw this out to you. Looking forward to getting lots of info from you guys

oops

Sorry, after posting I realized that she is a 1977 model. not a 1997. That's what happens when you turn 60 yrs old.

Comment

Are you looking at the BS CV carb PDF or the VM one?Orings are best gotten from here http://www.cycleorings.com/ .All kinds of info will be coming your way with BassCliff's Mega-Welcome.In the mean time here's a link to VM carb overhauls http://members.dslextreme.com/users/...rb_rebuild.pdf

Comment

Where in Colorado are you?