Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1982 GS850, A True Newbie's First Time Project

Hello all,

I picked up a non running 1982 GS850 last week for $350. It's not in the DMV system so it'll be relative cheap to register. Anyway I have no idea where to start, and this is my first project. I hope you guys could guide me to the right path throughout the project.

Well for brief description, it's not running and has been sitting for several years. The battery is charged and every electric lights up but somehow the power from starter is not going to the engine and it just make ticking sound when I try to start and that's it. Also it's unbelievably hard to move the bike even in neutral the wheels just wouldn't roll.

Below are some crappy pictures from the previous owner but I will take some fresh ones and post a video of the starter not working.

I'm really terrified that I bought this monster without having any motorcycle knowledge, but can't wait to get started!!!

Attached Files

BTW Do you guys know if there's a good GS restoration guide out there or good thread on this site that goes over restoration process step by step?

Comment

Comment

Where in So Calif are you? There are a few guys around that can help you depending on where you are at.
        Ed

To measure is to know.

Mikuni O-ring Kits For Sale...https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ts#post1703182

Top Newbie Mistakes thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=171846

Carb rebuild tutorial...https://gsarchive.bwringer.com/mtsac...d_Tutorial.pdf

KZ750E Rebuild Thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...0-Resurrection

Comment

Thank you! I have looked at that today, but now I'm reading through Mikuni_BS-CV_Carburetor_Rebuild_Tutorial as this will be the first thing I want to do on the bike. BTW does it matter if the manual is '80 and my bike is '82?

Originally posted by Nessism View Post