Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1982 GS300 Project - Where do I start

Hello All,

I wanted to start a thread to get some input about where I should go next in my GS300 project.

For those who have been following my other thread, I am by no means a motorcycle mechanic, but I have painfully and slowly learned a lot about the "problem child" bike I picked up a few months ago. The GS300 is a rare bike that shares a lot of parts with other bikes which seemed to be more popular than the GS300. After scouring the internet for GS300 information, I was led to the GSR where patient awesome members have helped me bring a non-running hunk of rust into a unique and fun commuter.

Here is what I started with:

Here is where I am at:

I hope to do something really interesting with this bike, as there are not many of them out there from what I understand. I'd like to use this thread to bounce ideas of others and also to share what (little) I have learned about this bike.

I don't like the bulkiness of the seat or the tupperware airbox set up.

My first instinct was to cafe it out, but I like the original shape of the tank and I also don't have the classic spoked wheels or suspension. I like the clean and simplicity of a cafe, but I don't think it would work with this easily.

A bobber-style is too grungy for me, and I don't think I could show up to my office job on a rat-rod inspired cruiser.

My ultimate goal is to have a custom commuter that shines like hell and is sporty and clean.

My current inspiration is a 50's era Chevy Bel Aire. I love the look of this car and I think this is the general direction I want to go:

This is going to be a long process, but I look forward to all the input and learning that will come along the way!
    Black (back to stock)
    28.95%
    Pearl with black trim
    18.42%
    Telecaster/57 chevy green with white pin stripes
    42.11%
    Red with gold trim
    10.53%
    Last edited by Guest; 06-19-2012, 07:27 PM.