Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1981 GS850. Will the title pose an issue?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1981 GS850. Will the title pose an issue?

First of all, I'm looking to purchase a 1981 GS850 WITH title for $200. It needs a battery, air box, brakes bled, oil change, etc. and the exhaust and tank are currently not on the bike. Guy says it ran last year.
    Anyway, he also mentioned it has a Missouri Title. I'm in Illinois. Is this going to cause an issue?
    Also, I know GS bikes have a cult following, and I have hopes and dreams of turning it into a cafe but I've never worked on bikes before. At this point, I'm not so concerned about cafe-ing it as I am getting it running. I'm mildly mechanical, and I think I can get it done. Although I don't know how much it will cost me.
    1. Am I getting in over my head with a project bike?
    2. Does the Missouri Title pose an issue?
    3. How much money do you think it will cost to get this bad boy on the road? (Condsidering the description)
    http://peoria.craigslist.org/mcy/3233899289.html

Contact your local DMV office to see what they require when bringing a vehicle in from out of state.

After that, the rest is all downhill.

1. Over your head? You will have to decide that, but it's going to need more than what you have on your list.
    2. Again, contact your DMV office.
    3. Cost will depend on what you are willing to spend, but plan on close to $1000, including the purchase price, by the time you get it reliable and rolling.

If you want a detailed list, click HERE when you have a few days to sit down and read.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride