82' GS850G project bike

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

82' GS850G project bike

Hey everyone. I just used the Craigslist Barter page and worked my way from an iPod Touch to a 82' GS850. It took me about a 1.5 years, but it worked.

The bike needs a little TLC, well in my opinion a lot. It runs well, and is quite a smooth ride. I think I'm going to tear the whole thing down and go from there.

I have no experience with tearing down bikes, but I am a Aircraft Technician, so I don't think it should be that different, especially with the manual.

Since this is the GS Resource site, I was wondering if there is anything I should or shouldn't do during the tear down and build up. I am a very minimalist kind of person so I was thinking of losing whatever isn't needed and going down to a single Speedo guage.

Any suggestions or comments are very welcome.

Also, money is pretty tight, but I'm willing to save for better options, ie- powder coating frame.

Thanks.

So I needed a work bench before I could start, so I threw together one from some scrap wood I had in my garage. and I started some teardown before bed. I thought alot of it was too rusty to salvage, but it's looking pretty good.

Here goes nothing.

Comment

Here it looks like the previous owner decided to do some of his own wiring

Last edited by Guest; 05-14-2013, 03:54 AM. Reason: Add more pictures

Comment

Gz?

Upon perusing the manual, I noticed I probably have a GZ. Is there any way to know for sure. I'm assuming the badges dont change?

Also, is there any major downsides?

Comment

Originally posted by Hakamisu View Post
          Upon perusing the manual, I noticed I probably have a GZ. Is there any way to know for sure. I'm assuming the badges dont change?

Z just indicates the year ('82). For example, mine is a GS850GLT since it's from the 1980 model year. Most people don't bother tacking it on, and just state the year instead. (Looking at my sig, I guess I'm an exception.)