GS1000. On my own this time

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS1000. On my own this time

After it appears wasting money having someone else do a bunch of top end work last year, I've learned that the message on this site to do it yourself seems to be holding up.

I'm a newbie so will be looking for ideas and feedback. I've put at least 600 easy kms on the bike since the supposedly new rings, carbs supposedly rejetted, valve job supposedly done.

Still Smoke on startup out of left pipe which was happening before the work and hasn't seem to have changed. So I'm assuming valve guide seals?, but why the heck would that not have been part of the job....

Smoke just lately while running out of right pipe and Number 3 cylinder at exhaust port on reving. Doesn't seem good. Looking for ideas here on what to look for.
    Leaks now at topmost gasket (head gasket?) on left side in particular

Somewhat gassy smell while running. Very slight fuel dripping from carbs, none while running but after sitting for a while after running and set on centre stand. Strangely this dripping was quite a bit worse a while ago. Then I started dissasembly to get the carbs out, wiggled them around a bit and stopped because of time. Rethought things figuring I should run it a bit more to get a better feel for what it was running like so put it back together and since then, a lot less dripping. Perhaps I giggled a stuck float loose?

I've installed a brand new oem petcock a little while back so that should be good.

That's the top end stuff. I'm also going to be installing progressive springs up front and checking the clutch basket.... big rattle at low rpm's. Plus some gas tank work (already cleaned out an old liner, now have a pinhole leak... so thinking a new liner or???. So I've been reading various threads and information.