77 gs550, restoring it to (hopefully) good driving condition while studying

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

77 gs550, restoring it to (hopefully) good driving condition while studying

Last desember i bought my first real mc, a gs550. The frame is from 1977, but it has cv carbs so im not really sure what year the engine is. Unfortunately i discovered shortly afterwards that the 2. gear was shot, and the engine didnt really run that well.
    Hoping to get it ready for summer, but im on a budget as im studying navigation so im going to do the repairs myself.

Status atm.:Sealed airfilterbox,bought new battery,basic check for damage on electrical system(looks ok and i have more than 12v with the new battery),changed tires,changed chain and currently i have my carbs in pieces and i plan to dip them when i when i find some cleaning soulution that i can get locally. one of the float needle seats was damaged and one of the mixture screws was almost stripped so i have to order replacements. Going down to the lokal ship builder next week to see if they have o-rings so i can change them at the same time.

Next on the list: Going to id the engine so i can buy a used transmission (or new dogs if i can get them), gaskets, and valve adjusting tools. Then ill measure, shim the valves and if i can manage it, repair the transmission.

Im new to multicarbureted and 4stroke mc engines so im hoping i dont end up spending all my time in the garage instead of riding
    Pic of the bike, on a trip before i started taking stuff apart.DSC_0414.jpg

Welcome! Don't go to your local shop for Orings, we have a member here that will sell you a kit that is correct. http://www.cycleorings.com/

Also, go here for all the info you will ever need on these beautiful old GS's. http://members.dslextreme.com/users/bikecliff/

Comment