1977/80/82 GS550 Project - cafe tracker thing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1977/80/82 GS550 Project - cafe tracker thing

So my father in law wanted a motorcycle and came to me to put it together for him. I had a 1980 GS550 whole but no title and the engine/tranny were shot. I had been contacted by a guy a few hours north of me that had an engine but also had a frame with a title. We made a deal and I picked up the engine and frame.

The bad news was the frame had a hackjob of a hardtail welded on.

It was going to take a lot to get the swingarm pivot area cleaned up...

So I ended up cutting both frames in half in the engine cradle area.

Not having a lathe, I am fortunate to have a friend that's a machinist by trade. Got slugs made for the frame rails.

Tacked together.

I am also working on my brother's 1977 GS550 and have changed damn near everything on it so I'm reusing a lot of stuff off his bike. Here I have mounted the 77 GS550 tank (they have different mounting points) and cut off some of the rear frame.

Cut back the shock/frame gusset to weld on a seat hoop.

Tacked on the seat hoop.

Kicked up the seat hoop and threw on the 77 GS550 front end. Don't mind the rear end, it's from the 80 GS550.

My father in law asked for bars that were comfortable (ie he didnt want to be throw over the tank with clipons or clubmans).

Mounted the tail light & license plate bracket.

How it sits at the moment.

Made the seat pan and added mounts. I should be foaming it this afternoon.

Used silicone bronze to weld up the tank badge mounts. Throwing bondo over the area will only lift it and bubble the paint at some point.

Used the ol' yoga mat seat padding & shaped it.

Started working on blending in the frame/shock mount gusset.

Laid out the template for the electronics tray.

Mocked it up and arranged the components. It's roomy because there will be a good amount of wiring passing through. I didn't want to clutter it up too much.