81 gs850 build or bust

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

81 gs850 build or bust

New here with a new project... I must admit I'm not a pro builder as this Will pretty much be the first actual bike build I've ever done.. So with that in mind I'm also not dead set on a direction to go with it but I am wanting it to be an offensive bike. Loud. Fast. Not shiny or beauty queen but more like a rat bike..

The idea of this started with a text from my bro asking if I could help bring a bike home that he was trading his muscle car for.. He said I could ride it back so I was pretty stoked being it was a 1968 shovelhead. A 1%'er bike with ape bars suicide shifter and only a headlight for lighting.. I've been under A lot of stress lately due to a head on car accident my wife nearly died in so I was pretty amped up for the ride.. Was a 2 hour ride using a dual sport helmet pretty late at night and I haven't rode for about a year and never rode a bike like that.. Fell in love with it I sure did.. I screamed in all good fun All the way back ran outta gas and was helped by a very nice lady.. After getting home and falling asleep with a sore behind and tore up forearms I knew what I needed to do.. To go find a bike to keep me healthy to so I can help keep my wife healthy as she recovers

Moving on....

I picked it up last weekend off My local craplist for $300 that someone bobbed so I wouldn't get shot at the podium for chop slashing a resto worthy classic.. Don't know much of the history but I figured I couldn't go wrong for the price

Love the front turn signals, those are keepers..... Good luck with the build, it's going to be a lot of work but it should help to keep you sane. Keep in mind you might be able to sell a few of the parts that you won't be using here on the sight to help fund the project, NOT the front turn signals, those are keepers...
    Rob
    1983 1100ES, 98' ST1100, 02' DR-Z400E and a few other 'bits and pieces'