1980 GS250T Project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1980 GS250T Project

Here is a little background: My father-in-law inherited this bike from his dad and hasn’t used it since the late 80s, so he gave it to me and I am making it a project. I am new to motorcycle mechanics, and there have been several headaches already, but I have been enjoying it for the most part. The bike had low compression so I decided to tear down the top end to see how things looked/learn how everything worked inside (I have a service manual I am following religiously). I unfortunately noticed a vertical scratch on the wall of the cylinder (see photo) and am wondering if I risk putting it back together with the scratch. I am able to feel the scratch and it is in the lower half of the cylinder. I've read old posts about burning oil or lost compression, reboring and using over-sized rings, but I am a college student on a budget and have quickly met my "budget". Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!!

Matt

Scratch.jpg

Did you take sand paper to the cylinder walls? The horizontal marks don't look like the typical cross-hatch you get from honing.
    How low was the compression? Engine cold when you did the reading?
    On a budget you may just get away with getting a cylinder hone and cleaning up the bore a bit. How many miles on the odometer? If a lot maybe some rings too.

Its your first motorcycle project, so good on you for jumping in and not being shy about tearing things down. But....if it were me, I would first concentrate on making sure the tank is clean and rust free, then replace all seals on the carbs, set the valve clearance, new oil and battery, then see how the engine runs and shifts before getting into a top end rebuild.
    1981 Suzuki GS250T
    1982 Yamaha Seca Turbo
    1985 Suzuki GS550E
    2004 Suzuki GSF1200S

Comment

Originally posted by fbody_mike View Post