• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nice!

Comment

Is that just reflective tape?
      82 GS1100E
      five asses because it's far superior to having just four!
      Yes, I watched too much South Park!

Comment

Originally posted by 5azzmonkey View Post
        Is that just reflective tape?
        Yes. I know, it's a minor thing, but it's cheap and makes the helmet much more visible, especially at night. I was inspired by Aerostich's Arrow Head Lane Change Indicators:
        (http://www.aerostich.com/arrow-head-...ndicators.html)

I found this reflective tape at Home Depot for about $4:

(http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053)

Comment

Nicely done. I've been wondering about doing the same thing.

Years ago when I started riding the helmet manufacturers strongly warned against any aftermarket decals being applied. That, presumably, was due to the glues used in the decals reacting with the helmet and in some way that could compromise the shell.

It looks to me like that may not be a problem anymore, although there still might be some issues with some of the plastic-y helmets on the market. Here's a link to an older, short blurb on the issue:

Our expert guide to all the best motorcycle gear on sale, reviewed and rated by our team of industry-leading journalists.

That was the fruit of my 5 minutes in Google. I'd love to read more about it if anyone knows of a controlled study.
          '83 GS650G
          '83 GS550es (didn't like the colours in the 80's, but they've grown on me)

Comment

Originally posted by BigD_83 View Post
            Nicely done. I've been wondering about doing the same thing.

Years ago when I started riding the helmet manufacturers strongly warned against any aftermarket decals being applied. That, presumably, was due to the glues used in the decals reacting with the helmet and in some way that could compromise the shell.