Rear shocks upside down

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rear shocks upside down

So when I bought the bike I didnt notice that the shocks were upside down. I was told this isn't a serious problem so I've thus far ignored it.

However the chain guard was missing so I ordered a replacement. That finally showed up today and I discovered that because the shocks are on upside down that I cannot install the chain guard.

So what steps do I need to take to safely and properly turn the shocks over? I'm assuming the bike will need to be supported and the springs compressed, but I'm a noob and I want to this right.

Do them one at a time and you shouldn't have any issues. I shouldn't be necessary to lift or support the bike other than have it on its centerstand.

Good luck with it.

Spyug

Comment

Originally posted by spyug View Post
      I shouldn't be necessary to lift or support the bike other than have it on its centerstand.

Good luck with it.

Spyug
      I was wondering if I should put a small board under the center stand since the rear tire isnt completely floating when on the center stand, or should that be fine, especially if I onlt take one off at a time?

Comment

No board needed if the shocks are the correct length. Pull off one side, flip it over, then do the other side. The springs come off with the shocks as one unit.

Comment

I just installed new shocks on my GS1100GK. Ideally, you want to get the rear up as high as feasible. I have a small lip (1/2 and inch or so) from the driveway to my garage floor and postion the bike so, when placed on the centerstand, the rear wheel hangs over. Some will place a 2x4 under the centerstand to gain more lift, but, my method works just as well for me.