1980 & 81 GS450S His & Hers Restoration Project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1980 & 81 GS450S His & Hers Restoration Project

My significant other an I picked up our first set of project bikes a little over a month ago. She has no riding experience other than on the back of mine as a passenger, and I have been riding for close to 10 years on street bikes, and about 20 years of motorsports as a whole as of writing this post. These will be the 3rd and 4th bikes that I have owned, however they will be the first significant projects that I have undertaken, so I am nervously excited.

The bikes are a 1980 Red Suzuki GS450S and a 1981 Silver Suzuki GS450S. They were sold to us by the original owners who bought them when they were younger as his & hers bikes, but have been sitting since about the 90's or so. The red one was unfortunately stored both indoors and outdoors during its lifetime and is going to need significant work done to it, including either an engine rebuild or replacement. The silver one was luckily stored inside for its entire life, so aside from some dryness, corrosion/rust, and some gummed up fuel/oil, it seems all in all decent functional condition.