How Many Practice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How Many Practice?

Like, the stuff learned in the Basic or Advanced motorcycle courses? I had a go yesterday afternoon in a big parking lot, just some slow speed maneuvering, a little swerving. Didn't have cones out or anything.

I'm kind of wanting to take an advanced course when one's open, with 2 of my boys ideally. My last and only course was in '97; I had to start with the Experienced Rider, or advanced course since that's what was available to me at the time on base. I remember messing around with some of the stuff taught periodically, but eventually got lazy and didn't really practice anything that wasn't part of my normal rides.

I rode for 20 years, took 4 1/2 years off, and just got back into it in December. I've already got over 1,800 miles on the bike I bought, and that's with it being broke down several times, lol. But do I have 20+ years of experience, or 1 year of it 20 times? I'd probably enjoy it more if I refreshed some of that.

If courses are lacking in your area, try this guy’s videos.

Rich
    1982 GS 750TZ
    2015 Triumph Tiger 1200

BikeCliff's / Charging System Sorted / Posting Pics
    Destroy-Rebuild 750T/ Destroy-Rebuild part deux

Comment

Ok, thanks. I watched one out on the street video the other day, which was the culmination of lots of parking lot training apparently, and he said "guys" so many times (like some of them do on YT) I don't think I could watch his stuff, lol.

Comment

Anything to improve your skills is going to be worth it. I did the Lee Parks course years ago, and learned a lot.
        Track days will really improve your skills, if you have any in the area. I've done one a few times in Michigan with some of the members here.
        Who you ride with matters, also. Spend a day with some serious, experienced riders, will teach a few things.
        Bob T. ~~ Play the GSR weekly photo game: Pic of Week Game