Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Airbox, rubber piece on the inside covers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Airbox, rubber piece on the inside covers?

I'm rebuilding a 79 GS850GN, and I'm playing around with the airbox. On the inside of the chrome covers is a flat rubber piece that covers the entire inside. I can't find the part number on the rubber, and I don't see it in any part diagram. One of the pieces is falling apart, and I can't find it on ebay either. Does anyone know what this is? I'm new to the biking world and have no idea if I need it or not. Thanks in advance for your advice.

Yes, you need it -- on a GS850, the airbox must only draw in air where it's supposed to, through the rubber snorkel on the back and the vent at the bottom, not from leaks elsewhere.

Fortunately, the solution is easy, cheap and simple -- just get some self-adhesive foam weatherstripping, clean up the inside of the airbox lids so it'll stick, and install pieces of the foam weatherstripping. I usually cut the ends at a 45 degree miter so the ends will seal.

Others have used other foam materials with success. The weatherstripping is the simplest.

You also usually need to apply the weatherstripping to the top of the air filter cage so it can't draw in dirty air. This seal is usually also missing from elderly airboxes. I usually add a coating of grease to the foam so that the metal filter cage will slide into place in the airbox easier.

If the foam air filter is crumbling, you might need a new Uni filter element (don't throw out the cage).

Sometimes some PO has installed a K&N filter in place of the stock cage and oiled foam; you can get cleaning kits at any auto parts store if it's in decent shape. Make sure it seals correctly too.
    Last edited by bwringer; 08-13-2018, 02:42 PM.
    1983 GS850G, Cosmos Blue.
    2005 KLR685, Aztec Pink - Turd II.3, the ReReReTurdening
    2015 Yamaha FJ-09, Magma Red Power Corrupts...
    Eat more venison.