JIS screwdrivers and new fasteners

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

JIS screwdrivers and new fasteners

So I've been thinking that I need JIS screwdrivers to deal with these pesky screws. I was looking at Hozan (#00,#0,#1,#2) 4 set on Amazon for $25. Should I get these or just mod a couple old phillips? And what can I do to replace these screws with allen head ones, can I just get new screws/fasteners from Lowe's or do I need to order them special online? Sorry, I'm a newbie to this.

Just replace with the same thread size and pitch. I use socket head cap screws where clearance is not an issue and button heads on things like fairings if needed.

Comment

I took a #3 Philips and touched it on the grinder. seems to work fine on the larger ones even in the impact driver!

Comment

For Allen head replacements, check out Z1 enterprises. They sell entire sets of polished stainless Allen head bolts for engine cases/covers and also individually, by size. Whenever I'm going to do any work on the bike that involves removing original screws, I just order the replacement Allen screws ahead of time. The bolt sizes are usually contained within the Suzuki OEM part number. I haven't had any wrong ones yet.

Comment

Vessel has good JIS screwdrivers.
          Their Megadora screwdrivers are a good choice.
          The Megadora Impacta adds some impact driver capability.
          They also have impact drivers.
          Are available via eBay & Amazon.
          http://www.vesseltools.com/hand-tool...-products.html

McMaster-Carr has a good selection of JIS screws at good prices.
          http://www.mcmaster.com/#machine-screws/=skqou5

Rimfire has engine screw kits for a few Suzuki models.
          http://www.rimfire-eng.com/Suzuki_Model_Selection.htm

Comment