mustering the confidence to do my valve adjustment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

mustering the confidence to do my valve adjustment

i've been busy with projects and riding (instead of working on) my bike. it's time to get the valve adjustment done and stick a new valve gasket on. i've never done a valve adjustment before on any bike. i've read the tutorial on bikecliff's site, but still wish i had someone over my shoulder to make sure i don't screw it up. i have all the tools needed, now i just need the confidence to do it! hah!

am i supposed to sync the carbs again once the adjustment is done?

any last minute tips?

You will find its not that bad once you get to it. Get one of steve's spreadsheets if you haven't already.
    83 GS1100ES rebuild:

http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=170032

Budget GSXR Conversion:

http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=200563

New to me bike: 2008 B-KING

Comment

I was a bit hesitant as well, but it turned out to be fairly easy. I found it easier to use the bucket depression tool by getting it in place with the lobe pressing down on the shim and then rotating the crank with a wrench until the lobe came back up. It tends to slip off of the bucket if you try to use it the conventional way. It will work either way though. Use some grease or graphite anti-sieze on both sides of the gasket when putting it all back together. You'll be glad you did when it comes time for your next valve adjustment. +1 on Steve's spreadsheet. It removes all the math and guesswork for you.

1983 GS750ED-Horsetraded for the Ironhead
      1981 HD XLH

Drew's 850 L Restoration

Drew's 83 750E Project

Comment