How to remove float pins ??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to remove float pins ??

Help, the float pins on my carbs are pushed all the way in - I think it's the original setup. Tried to grab the heads with snips but there's really nothing to grab. I'm afraid to tap them out, i've had some bad experiences with that!!

I have them soaking in PB blaster at the moment, waiting for me to think up something clever...

I know this has been kicked about before, but i need a sure fire way to pull these out without breaking off the float posts. What are some of the techniques and/or tricks you guys have out there to do this safely??

All ideas & opinions welcome!!

Thanks,

mike
    '85 GS550L - SOLD
    '85 GS550E - SOLD
    '82 GS650GL - SOLD
    '81 GS750L - SOLD
    '82 GS850GL - trusty steed
    '80 GS1100L - son's project bike
    '82 GS1100G - SOLD
    '81 GS1100E - Big Red (daily rider)

Yes, soak them in PB Blaster and then (if you have a vice) open the jaws of the vice about 1/8" and lightly tap the pin (from the left hand float support tab) using the vice as a "die" for the pin.

If no vice is available...use the smallest socket that you have or a couple pieces of flat iron or what ever will work (not wood) and again place the right hand float support tab over the space "die" that you've created to support the tab...then tap the pin lightly.

Sounds harder than it is.......hard to explain. :?

OH...make sure to use a punch (very small, smaller than the pin) to tap the pin out!
    Last edited by Dave8338; 06-04-2008, 09:51 AM. Reason: forgot

Comment

I just use the corner of my workbench to support the post. The vice is a good idea though.
      Ed

To measure is to know.

Mikuni O-ring Kits For Sale...https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ts#post1703182

Top Newbie Mistakes thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=171846

Carb rebuild tutorial...https://gsarchive.bwringer.com/mtsac...d_Tutorial.pdf