Hey guys, just picked up an 82 GS650L, have some questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hey guys, just picked up an 82 GS650L, have some questions

Ok, so I got this thing, its sweet, looks so nice I love it. Now, I have some experience with cars, but I'm only 20, so its all been fuel injected stuff. This bike carb thing is new to me ha.

So I got the bike, the guy drove it onto the trailer, drove fine. On the trailer, it kinda tipped over, and wouldnt stay up, so I left it like that for about 15 minutes.

I got home and it wouldn't start. I thought I had flooded it so I let it sit. Where I'm at right now, the bike will start and run, but when I rev it, it revs and almost immediately dies. I can't figure it out. Its running right now but I can't get it to rev up without dying

Hi Mr. AudiA4_20T,

Your issue sounds like it may be related to a bad petcock (or maybe the vacuum line just came off when it tipped), or bad intake boot O-rings. Maybe there is a lot of debris in the tank that is now clogging the mesh filter at the top of the petcock? Have you tried the petcock on the "PRIME" setting? If there was sediment in the float bowls, that could have been introduced into the carb proper causing jets to be clogged or worse.

Here is your "mega-welcome". Please pay particular attention to the "Top 10 Common Issues", the Carb Rebuild Series, and the Stator Papers. Now let me roll out the welcome mat for you...

Please click here for your mega-welcome, chock full of tips, suggestions, links to vendors, and other information. Then feel free to visit my little BikeCliff website where I've been collecting the wisdom of this generous community. Don't forget, we like pictures! Not you, your bike!

I really like that blue and white color scheme. One member here painted their GS850G like that. It looked so great that I think about doing it too.

Thanks for joining us. Keep us informed.

Thank you for your indulgence,

BassCliff

Comment