Fork oil level on GK

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fork oil level on GK

First of all, I'll apologize for NOT having a manual yet for my GK.

Anyway, I'm going to be installing Progressive fork springs this weekend. I have some experience with it since my 750 has already had this done. I looked at Cliff's site which has the Owners Manual which doesn't mention fork oil levels. I suppose I need to track down a Service Manual at some point.

Would one of the GK owners please look it up and let me know. I'm guessing 140mm but, with the added weight of the fairing, I want to be sure. Thanks.
    Larry D
    1980 GS450S
    1981 GS450S
    2003 Heritage Softtail

Linky for Larry http://www.progressivesuspension.com...rings/3055.pdf

Here is the standard instruction info from Progressive noting the 140 mm dimension you mentioned. I would guess bumping the pre-load slighty for your bike. Maybe 1" of the spacer out of the tube before installation but I am not worthy of a GK. I kept two of mine even and one about 3/4" out of the tube which definately firmed it up but it is not too firm IMHO.

I have a service manual I can check tonight if you would like but I have gone with this formula and 15 wt oil.
    82 GS850L - The Original http://s224.photobucket.com/albums/d...ePics067-1.jpg
    81 GS1000L - Brown County Hooligan http://s224.photobucket.com/albums/d...ivePics071.jpg
    83 GS1100L - Super Slab Machine http://s224.photobucket.com/albums/d...t=DCP_1887.jpg
    06 KLR650 - "The Clown Bike" http://s224.photobucket.com/albums/d...nt=SERally.jpg
    AKA "Mr Awesome"

Comment

Originally posted by twr1776 View Post
      Linky for Larry http://www.progressivesuspension.com...rings/3055.pdf