Yosh build part deux

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Yosh build part deux

SO lets see if I can keep this up, I am running a parallel post over at http://www.oldskoolsuzuki.info/

So some of this will just be copied and pasted

You have been warned!

Here’s my deal, I have been planning a GS1000y build for a while now, first phase was to get the bike working and cleaned up with the idea of building it into a replica racer.
    Here are a few pics of what it was and what I got once I was done.

Now it's time for phase 2, the engine build. This is my first build so please be patient with me; it’s going to be a big learning experience and project for me. To help guide me I have been working with Speedy Steve (he is a great guy plus he is only an hour and a half from me). We are looking at doing a stage 1.5 build that is easily expandable for future competition use. We are trying to use most of the stuff I have right now (yosh 1085 kit w/11.2:1 cr, oem exhaust valves, vm29 smoothbore carbs, yosh 4 into 1 2.5” dia header w/ canister or a yosh 4 into 1 3.5” dia header w/megaphone, accel coils, some basic things like that)

Basically this is my plan for the motor: ported head, 1085 kit, going to get the crank rebuilt by Falicon or Gardner Racing Concepts, keeps stock rods, having crank guy inspect them, I was thinking about going straight cut primary, gotta see what I am quoted first, a gs1100 billet basket (still researching this, I think I just need to cut it down a bit to clear the inside of the cover) I might get the gears undercut locally, got to see how much that is and what shape the tranny is in, going to run a msd mc-3 box based on Steve’s recommendations and last but not least paint the motor in kal guard gun kote to help with heat.

This is my basic plan and will grow change as I go.
    Some immediate questions I have are in regards to my head, since Steve is almost done with it.