Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New member looking at 2 GS850 to buy. Advice? Gotcha?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New member looking at 2 GS850 to buy. Advice? Gotcha?

Hello!
    I've been gone from this forum for years as I haven't had any Suzuki's in a few years. I am a very experienced mechanic. Cars, trucks but my passion is motorcycles. Especially 70's and 80's metric but I work on anything from ancient to modern. I do this as a hobby but have contracted out to do work on local bikes. Mainly for young folks just getting into riding. I buy old bikes and get them safe to ride then flip them. Take that money and buy more. Enough of my rambling.

Tomorrow I'm going to go look at 2 (80 and 81) GS850's a guy has for sale. It is too good of a deal to pass. Supposedly complete bikes with clean titles. No pics to show as he doesn't know how to post pics or even send them to me via email! But I talked to him on the phone and feel confident that the deal is legit.

Now I know to check for locked brakes and frozen engines and general condition. I won't be able to test the charging circuits but frankly they are cheap enough that if I had to put new stator and regulator it wouldn't hurt the deal. I know I'll need new tires. He said they both have "Windjammer" fairings but one has the headlight bucket as well.

Any other gotcha's I should look for?
    Thanks in advance,
    John

Gas tanks for rust or holes as they can be a bit hard or pricey to replace, sometimes. The exhausts are the most expensive and hardest thing to get.
    Rob
    1983 1100ES, 98' ST1100, 02' DR-Z400E and a few other 'bits and pieces'
    Are you on the GSR Google Earth Map yet? http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=170533

Comment