1978 GS1000E Project by a Rookie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1978 GS1000E Project by a Rookie

This is the starting point for my new project. I am new to this level of project so I am looking for lots of advice. I have read a lot of posts on front end upgrades and want to find a solution that doesn't change the existing geometry and allows for better brakes and clip-ons. If someone has a complete parts list of a workable solution please let me know. I do not intend on changing the swing arm. I have a set of water buffalo spoke hubs that I may use as well.
    1978 GS1000 Starting Point.jpg

This is the first picture of the tear down. I have found out that the tank I have is full of a nasty coating and the tank has lots of bondo. If anyone knows where I can get a tank or what other tanks will fit without modifications that would be a plus.
    1978 GS1000 Tear Down 1 (2).jpg

Comment

This is the inspiration I am using for the build. Love the stance just need to make it mine. Smaller front fender, custom side panels that fit in the triangle and very simple electrics.
      GS.jpg

Comment

Well, for the front end you can just buy clip ons for the stock forks or use clubman bars and do Salty Monk's brake upgrade. That will get you decent brakes and the bar position you want.

Mark
        1982 GS1100E
        1998 ZX-6R
        2005 KTM 450EXC

Comment

Just for curiosity, what is your budget and what is your estimated time of completion? Good luck can't wait to see the finished product.
          My Motorcycles:
          22 Kawasaki Z900 RS (Candy Tone Blue)
          22 BMW K1600GT (Probably been to a town near you)
          82 1100e Drag Bike (needs race engine)
          81 1100e Street Bike (with race engine)
          79 1000e (all original)
          82 850g (all original)
          80 KZ 650F (needs restored)

Comment