springtime questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

springtime questions

Last year I purchased a 1981 550-T, I use it to commute when I can. I'm new at the sport and tend to avoid any traffic; as an upstate PA resident, I can manage this.
    At the end of last year, I noticed that the bikes performance seemed to fade. Most noticeable was a tendency for the engine to hesitate slightly when I rolled the throttle. I also noticed that the engine would seem to run rough occassionaly. Both symptoms seemed to happen when the engine was hot or cold.
    At the end of last season, the problem had grown worse - to the point that it was very difficult to turn over. I put my new baby on a trickle charger, put some sta-bil in the tank, covered her with a nice wool blanket and got my skis out. Spring is here and I am reborn as an old guy with a cycle complex.
    I suspect a fuel supply problem and possibly a carbeurator issue. Any help as to how I might troubleshoot? Thanks.

What maintenence have you done ?

And this should be in the tech forum........
    Larry D
    1980 GS450S
    1981 GS450S
    2003 Heritage Softtail

Comment

not much, I've kept it clean and filled the tires, I am about to start with the maintenance, that's why I posted. I thought this might go under the tech heading, but wasn't sure; sorry about that.

Comment

No problem...but, you'd get more answers there.

If you've done any searching and research in the forums, I think you know the answer. Carb cleaning, valve adjustment, no air leaks, etc.....
        Larry D
        1980 GS450S
        1981 GS450S
        2003 Heritage Softtail

Comment