What's in your garage?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What's in your garage?

So, I'm just getting started with my new-to-me 1979 GS750, and I'm realizing that I will have to go out and buy some tools and what not to be able to do all that I will need to do to get my bike in shape and then to maintain it.

My question to you vets out there, is what would you say is a list of 'must have's' and a list of 'nice to have's' as far as tools or diagnostic devices. If you know approximate or relative cost for each of these that would be helpful too.

Anyone have in input on this?

Have to have tools!!!

Originally posted by StevieD View Post
    So, I'm just getting started with my new-to-me 1979 GS750, and I'm realizing that I will have to go out and buy some tools and what not to be able to do all that I will need to do to get my bike in shape and then to maintain it.

My question to you vets out there, is what would you say is a list of 'must have's' and a list of 'nice to have's' as far as tools or diagnostic devices. If you know approximate or relative cost for each of these that would be helpful too.

Anyone have in input on this?
    Torque wrenches are a must!!! Both large (in foot pounds) and small (in inch pounds), unless you want to do a lot of swearing and spending money on Healey coils..... (Yup, I learned the hard way)

Comment

Apart from the obvious spanners / sockets / screwdrivers etc I'd suggest:

Impact driver (£10) - must have if the bike's still fitted with JIS screws - replace all these with allen bolts if you can.

Carb balancer (£80) - makes all the difference to getting a bike running sweetly.

Colourtune (£25) - had mine 30 years and swear by it. Others have mixed views so I'm only talking from personal experience.

Mole grips (£10) - for when that blo*dy bolt or screw has lost its head. Accompanied by penetrating oil and a gas torch as those bolts and screws have been in there for 30 years.