HELP! No pressure on brake lever after removing banjo bolt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP! No pressure on brake lever after removing banjo bolt

I've been a longtime lurker in this forum and am finally making my first post!

Bike: 1982 GS650G

This has been a project I've been working on for 7 months... last owner wrecked this thing. Finally have it running, so I thought I'd flush the master cylinder because it was looking a little murky. The front brakes were working, but I wanted to make sure everything was tip top.
    I loosened the banjo bolt on the right side caliper to access the bleeder screw, because the brake line was very very close. Then, caput! No pressure at all in the brake lever. I bled the brakes on both sides, went through a whole bottle of brake fluid, nothing, no resistance at all.

Things I've tried, per this forum's advice:
    -I removed the brake line from the MC, but my finger on the outlet and pumped the lever. Felt pressure, but lever is still soft as can be
    -I removed banjo bolts from both calipers, held my fingers over the outlet, pumped and felt pressure. Nothing.
    -I investigated the "little hole" in the MC, it is doing fine and I see activity when I pump the handle.
    -I took apart the calipers, cleaning the boots, inspected the piston, nothing.
    -I pumped the brake with the calipers off to see if the piston was moving, it wasn't.

I'm totally at a loss... I am unsure why this happened. My gut tells me there's air in the line but I'm not sure how to get it out if there is...

I thought that maybe the caliper pistons became seized but I cannot see how that would be.... they were working fine before.

Any help would be much appreciated!

You need to "prime" it. You can either crack the banjo bolt while pulling the lever or the easier way is to either apply suction from the caliper end (via the bleeder screw) or inject brake fluid from the bottom using a syringe.