Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help tyre inner tube Metzeler Tourance

Hey Guys,

I’m finishing my scrambler build on my gs550L and found some very nice Metzeler Tourance tyres in the following sizes:

Rear 120/90/17
    front 100/90/19

Now, i’m pretty new to tyres that need an inner tube (rear tyre) and was wondering what kind of inner tube should i get? What type of valve should it have that fits this tyre and the gs rim?

Would love to get some info on this! Btw i’m based in Europe!

Thanks in advance,
    Oliver

ps: build foto’s will be uploaded soon when finished

Inner tubes are made of stretchy rubber, and they fit a range of tire sizes. Plus, they're also often designated using old-fashioned inch sizes, which are still common for dirtbike tires. So it can be confusing, and with many online retailers, they do a terrible job of communicating the size ranges on their websites. Inventory and online shop software has trouble coping with stretchy things...

Anyway, you'll need a TR-4 or TR-6 valve. I think most come with TR-6, and you'll also see "center", meaning it's in the center of the tube. In motorcycle sizes, they're all center, but on stuff like tractor ATV tires, the stem can be on one side.

As far as sizes, you'll need to find your rim diameter, then look for a tube compatible with your width.

Here's a good example from a US retailer of a front tube you could use:
    America's trusted online source to shop the best discounted Motorcycle, UTV, ATV, Side by Side, and 4 Wheeler aftermarket tires, gear, parts and accessories.

For the rear, 120/90-17 is a little rare, but converts to something in the 4.50-4.75 width range, so this tube would work:
    America's trusted online source to shop the best discounted Motorcycle, UTV, ATV, Side by Side, and 4 Wheeler aftermarket tires, gear, parts and accessories.

Notice how it fits everything from 4.00-17 up to 5.10-17.